Created On: 24 November 2011

Last weekend (20th November) Castle Combe hosted the British University and College Sports (BUCS) Duathlon Championships.  Athletes raced over a 2 mile run, 10 mile bike and then finished with a final 2 mile run on the racing circuit.

The BUCS Duathlon has increased in size year on year, with over 300 students taking part last weekend.

In the Men's race, an early lead was established by Saint Mary's athlete Andy Rooke who entered T1 with a 25 second advantage over a chasing pack of six. However, Rooke's lead was short lived, as the lead pack quickly caught and passed him on the first lap of five on the bike.

A lead group of six formed on the first lap including Luke Watson of Loughborough University, Alex Matchett of Bristol University and Rhys Davey of Leeds Metropolitan University. The lead pack worked well together and shared the workload in an "ironman style" pack keeping a seven meter gap between each rider.

On the third lap the lead pack was joined by last year's third place finisher Lee Calderon of UEA who took on the lead responsibilities for the remainder of the bike. Calderon lead out of T2 with Matchett and Watson right on his heels. However, with the fast pace set by Watson and Matchett, they caught Calderon 400m into the run. The race for gold was now between Pembrokeshire boys Watson and Matchett. Watson put in multiple surges through the 2mile run but Matchett was not easily dropped. With 600m to go Watson put in one final effort. The elastic finally snapped, allowing Watson to get a gap over Matchett and take the Men's 2011 BUCS championships.

Upon winning the BUCS title Watson commented,

"I'm really pleased with the result; it was a tough race against some strong guys and I'm delighted to come away with the win. It's a great start to the winter, and an excellent result for the team."

Upon congratulating Matchett with an impressive BUCS debut, he remarked,

 "I had no idea what to expect going into the race as it's so early in the season"...

"Overall, fantastic to get a Pembrokeshire 1-2, brilliantly organised event as usual from DB Max."

In the Women's race, last year's BUCS Duathlon Champion Lois Rosindale of Leeds Metropolitan University was the favourite having come off a very successful 2011 season.

Rosindale took out the first run and lead the way into T1 alongside Amy Jesset of Newcastle University. The pair held a 20 second lead over Georgia Bell of St Mary's University College with Vicky Johnston of Loughborough University and Liz Burrows of Leeds Metropolitan University a further 20 seconds down.

With a smooth T1 Rosindale was first onto the racing circuit to tackle the 10mile flat bike.   

Johnston took advantage of the non-drafting bike and worked hard to crawl back 20 seconds from leader Rosindale and establish herself into second position coming into T2. Johnston was closely followed by Sophie Saller of Oxford University who had also put in a strong cycle.

Rosindale rounded off the race with the fastest Women's run split of the day which ensured she successfully defended her title from 2010. 

With a strong second run, Johnston, in her first year at Loughborough University, made an impressive debut claiming second place with Saller of Oxford University taking third.

In the team categories with Luke Watson leading the way, Loughborough University claimed the Men's team title ahead of Birmingham in second and Durham University in third.

In the Women's category Lois Rosindale's dominating performance helped Leeds Metropolitan University to take the top position with Durham University in second and Loughborough University in third.

The Paul Weston Trophy is won by the overall winners of the competition based upon the three top men and women scorers from each University. With only two minutes between first and second the Paul Weston Trophy was won by Loughborough University for the second year running.

Men's Results:

1. Luke Watson, Loughborough University
Alex Matchett, Bristol University
Sam Wade, UWIC

Women's Results:

1. Lois Rosindale, Leeds Metropolitan University
2. Vicky Johnston, Loughborough University
3. Sophia Saller, Oxford University

Men's Team:

1. Loughborough University
2. Birmingham University
3. Durham University

Women's Team:

1. Leeds Metropolitan University
2. Durham University
3. Loughborough University

Paul Weston Trophy (combined times of three men and three ladies):

Loughborough University

Photo courtesy of Doug Hall:

Tags: news,duathlon,dbmax

Bookmark and Share


Related Articles


Please help us improve TRIfinder

Your answers to this short 2 minute survey will help us shape the future of TRIfinder and make it better for everyone.

Click here to help ×